I have discovered GoodReads.

And I love it.

It’s so convenient. And it allows me to keep track of what books I’ve actually read, so I don’t have to only figure out whether I have or not by starting to read a book again.

Plus, it allows me to indulge in my hyper-organizational tendencies that never occur with things that need to be organized. I.e., my room, homework, my computer … the usual.

I also figure it can help me keep track of books that I really loved. Every time someone asks me what my favorite book is, I draw a blank. And I can honestly say I’ve read likely hundreds of books in my lifetime – but all I think of when someone asks me for my favorite is: “Uh… Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, ya know?…”

And quite honestly, I can say that I have read a good deal more than that.

Admittedly, most of the stuff I read seems to be either fantasy or historical fiction, but not all that I read is based upon magic.

Anyhow, in case you feel like perusing my rather varied bookshelf, as incomplete as it probably is, feel free to browse here. I think I have the settings so that only GoodReads members can see, but I’ll go over and change that as soon as I finish this. But really, especially if you’re an avid reader (or just a normal reader, even) I highly recommend this. I signed up a few hours ago and I’m honestly in love.

Update: Because of my age (give it a few months, and you can ignore this), my profile is only set to “Private”. (In other words, if you’re not a GoodReads member, you can’t see it.) But honestly, that’s all irrelevant: the website is what this is all really about.

Got a thought? Say it here.

