I AM DONE.

The senior recital has been conquered.

That went … really fast.

I have one week left at Juilliard – commencement and the final orchestral concerts are next Saturday. Um, talk about time flying. It feels like September only just passed.

Granted, this happens to me every year, but still. It hits home every time.

For those of you who weren’t there (the roughly 6,999,999,950 other humans on this planet), I thought it went well. From what we assume was the reed, my embouchure didn’t have the endurance I could have hoped for, but that aside I had nothing to complain about. I was certainly prepared (thank you, Mr. D!) and I … am just really, really, really glad that it’s over, in a way. I can actually focus on skills now when I practice, rather than incorporating skills into a piece that I’m trying to get as close to perfect as I can.

I’m not gonna lie though, today was long. I had a rehearsal at Paul Hall from 8:30 to 9:00 AM as a sort of miniature dress rehearsal, followed by my recital, then a chamber concert with my quintet, then orchestra rehearsal until 5 PM (though I got off at four and went to see a friend’s recital), and then an oboe sectional that was requested by PCO’s conductor because I missed all of the Copland rehearsal because of the chamber concert. And, finally, at 6 PM I got to see another bassoon recital — two in one day!

I think I’ve finally seen as many bassoon recitals as I have tuba recitals.

I guess that kind of goes to show what I consider worthwhile to see.

Going back to my long, long day, I managed to make my day feel even longer by forgetting to keep my chamber part for the chamber marathon concert – I’d sent all of my music home with my mother. So, long story short, I had a thrilling dash in a dress and heels up from the street level (effectively the basement) to the fifth floor, where I had to explain to the librarian far too many times that yes I would return the music today and that I would appreciate all speed on his part since I have a concert that I’m playing in that could start any minute now.

For those of you wondering, I got back to the hall with at least fifteen minutes to spare, and I returned the parts immediately following the performance.

And, miraculously, I’m not dead yet.

